An Abana helps you get the

Car insurance company quotes


Are you shopping for affordable car insurance quotes? California insurance companies are required to offer you a good driver's discount if you have a clean driving record. Read more to learn about California car insurance rates, laws, and programs.

Car Insurance Requirements

California law requires that you have a way to cover costs related to damages or injuries you may have caused in a car accident. Purchasing liability car insurance is the simplest and most common way people choose to meet this requirement.

The minimum amount of liability insurance you must have on your policy is:

  • $15, 000 for injury/death to one person.
  • $30, 000 for injury/death to more than one person.
  • $5, 000 for damage to property.
  • Other Car Insurance Coverage

    While liability coverage is the only type of car insurance coverage you are required to carry in California, there are several other types of coverage available to you, including:

  • Comprehensive coverage – This coverage insures you against damages that might occur to your car that do not involve traffic accidents such as theft-related damage.
  • Collision coverage – This insures you against damages to your car that occur as a result of a traffic collision such as an accident with another driver.
  • Medical and funeral services coverage.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured motorist coverage – According to the latest statistics from the California Department of Insurance (CDI), in 2004, 14.43% of California drivers had no car insurance. Uninsured/underinsured coverage can cover damages caused by one of these drivers.
  • Rental car coverage.
  • Towing and labor coverage.
  • Note: Adding comprehensive and/or collision coverage is generally optional. However, if your car is being financed, your lending or leasing company will require you to purchase comprehensive and collision coverage.

    Other Forms of Financial Responsibility

    Buying car insurance is the most common way to fulfill your financial responsibility requirements, but it isn't your only option.

    Other options to meet the requirement include:

  • A $35, 000 cash deposit with the CA Department of Motor Vehicles.
  • A Certificate of Self-Insurance from the DMV.
  • A surety bond of $35, 000 from any company licensed to do business in CA.
  • Proof of Insurance

    You must be able to prove you have auto insurance to register your car or renew your registration. Your insurance company will give you an insurance card that can serve as your proof of insurance. Your car insurance card will have:

  • Your car's information.
  • Make.
  • Model.
  • Year.
  • Safety rating.
  • Value.
  • Your name and the name of any other drivers under your car's policy.
  • The expiration date of your insurance policy's term.
  • You will receive a new card every time you renew your car insurance policy.

    Additionally, insurance companies in California are required to electronically report your insurance information to the DMV. The California DMV can use these electronic records to verify that you have car insurance.

    Getting Pulled Over in California

    If you are pulled over by a police officer, you must show your proof of insurance, along with your driver's license and car registration.

    Violation Fines and Penalties

    If you are pulled over in California without proof of car insurance or any other form of financial responsibility, you may face the following fines:

  • $100 - $200 for your first offense.
  • $200 - $500 for each offense within 3 years after your first.
  • The court may impound your car and hold it until you are able to show a proof of insurance.

    Suspended Registration

    Not having car insurance in California can also result in a suspension of your car's registration if:

  • The CA DMV is notified of your insurance cancellation and you have not replaced it within 45 days.
  • Your car insurance information is not given to the DMV within 30 days of your car's initial registration or transfer of ownership.
  • You registered your car with false evidence of insurance.
  • The DMV will send you a letter if your registration has been suspended due to not having car insurance. You can re-register your car with a proof of insurance at the cost of $14. You can apply for reinstatement:

  • By mail without a notification letter to: DMV VRFRP Unit
    PO Box 997408 N305
    Sacramento, CA
  • California's Proposition 103

    Before 1988, California was among only a small handful of states that had no state-governed regulations on the insurance industry. As a result, California auto insurance rates kept climbing to levels that were not affordable to many people.

    To combat what many saw as arbitrary insurance rates, Californians voted into law Prop 103 on November 8, 1988, which called for consumer-driven regulation on insurance companies.

    Under Prop 103, insurance companies were required to cut their rates to 20% less than what they were in 1987. Any rate changes from that point would have to be approved by the California Department of Insurance.

    Among the provisions of Prop 103 are rules regulating how insurance companies determine your car insurance premiums and the Good Driver Discount policy.

    Good Driver Discount Policy

    Because of Prop 103, California law requires insurance companies to offer a 20% discount to good drivers. You qualify for this Good Driver Discount policy in California if:

  • You have been licensed to drive for the past 3 years.
  • During the past 3 years you have not:
  • Had more than 1 point on your driving record due to a violation(s).
  • Taken traffic school because of a traffic violation more than once.
  • Been the at-fault driver in an accident that resulted in injury or death.
  • Determining Your Insurance Premium: Credit Score

    Prop 103 makes it illegal for insurance companies in California to use your credit history as a factor in determining the cost of your car insurance premium. Because of this, other factors may carry more weight.



    Share this article





    Related Posts


    Old car insurance quotes
    Old car insurance quotes

    Latest Posts
    Cheap insurance Deals
    Cheap insurance…
    If you are on this page then it is likely…
    Mercury life Insurance
    Mercury life…
    Life Mercury Related Keywords Suggestions…
    Auto insurance quotes online
    Auto insurance…
    Save money on your car insurance with…
    Check car insurance rates
    Check car insurance…
    We know buying a car can be stressful…
    Auto Insurance Orange County
    Auto Insurance…
    Everything you need to know about your…
    Search
    Featured posts
    • Old car insurance quotes
    • Access car insurance quote
    • Car insurance Quotes. Compare online
    • Best online car insurance quotes
    • Get car Insurance online today
    • Car Insurance in Columbus Ohio
    • USAA Casualty Insurance Company
    • Multi-Car insurance companies
    • Car insurance quotes multiple companies
    Copyright © 2018 l autoinsurancelin.org. All rights reserved.